Chris Erwin’s Post

View profile for Chris Erwin, graphic

M&A and strategy advisory for creator economy | 3x founder and digital leader | Savannah real state investor

My story for how I got into creator economy M&A 👇 And why I love *unsexy* service co's...

View profile for Chris Erwin, graphic

M&A and strategy advisory for creator economy | 3x founder and digital leader | Savannah real state investor

"Follow opportunity, not your passion" That quote reminds me of when I left Big frame / AwesomenessTV back in 2017. It was right after our parent co DreamWorks Animation was sold to NBCU. When I left... I didn’t start a digital network. Or go lead a digital team at a big-name studio or social media co. I didn't raise angel funding or venture capital for a "scalable tech co". Instead, I started a small consulting biz. Or as many at the time told me, an "unsexy services biz". Where there was "little upside", and that it wouldn't look good on my resume. But I saw a great opportunity… I knew digital-native video, and creators, were the future of storytelling and nextgen business building. But there were so many bad strategy and dealmaking decisions being made. Yet there were no advisors who were dedicated to the space, who had seasoned digital media operator and exit experience, and had Wall Street M&A training. So investors were getting burned, and founders and execs were getting disenchanted. It made me concerned the creator economy was going to grow very slowly, and not realize its massive potential. So I started RockWater Industries. Today, we're the go-to M&A and strategy advisor for the creator economy. We help founders/operators/investors earn great ROI from smart business building and dealmaking. Still no "rocket ship, tech-enabled growth", but we've carved out a great lane for ourselves. We have a steadily growing book of client business across 5 continents, and are making new investments in our team this year. We look forward to continue helping more operators and investors shepherd this industry into its incredible potential. (shoutout to Mike Rowe, of Dirty Jobs fame, who gave me the inspo)

  • No alternative text description for this image
John Trefry

Producer / Content Strategist, Advisor & Founder

1w

Inspired by what you’re building Chris!

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics