Erika Hall’s Post

  • I have a friend who is an eng leader who was asked to “performance manage” a few folks out. He refused to do it, bc there were no performance problems. So he got fired. This is the kind of bs that’s happening these days. I really admire him. What’s the line that you won’t cross?
Nicholas Miller

Computational linguist | Software developer | Data engineer | Educator

1w

Such unethical behavior from that company, but I admire the integrity of that leader. For me one line is using "GenAI" or integrating it into software I'm working on. Any group that builds/uses GenAI needs to be actively making amends for the data theft, labor exploitation, and environmental destruction that goes into those tools. As a former machine learning person I feel especially responsible for being as annoying as possible about that.

Killing people. It's surprisingly common in software engineering to find positions that involve building systems for military operations or data collection, which is known to be used for avoidably killing innocent people. I don't oppose the military or all defense contractors, and it's not exclusively defense contractors who do it. I think back to this blog post: https://drewdevault.com/2021/03/06/Corporate-surveillance-murder.html Sadly still as relevant as ever in 2024.

Annie Streater

A Swiss army knife of design, research, and strategy.

1w

I don’t do anything if the people asking me to do it can’t (or won’t) explain why and provide supporting information. It’s definitely gotten me pushed out of places. Because sadly I didn’t have a manager like your friend.

Lynn Boyden

Business Analyst at Lane County, supporting technical services for the Health and Human Services Division

1w

I absolutely won't sit quietly while people are being harassed or abused, and neither should you.

Like
Reply
✨Sascha Brossmann

Fractional CPO/VP Product, Advisor & Coach for Startups and Scaleups (B2B SaaS Platforms 0-1-scale) | Community Builder

1w

I’d love to lean who the are. Just in case I would be hiring. That’s the kind of people I want in my teams.

Alexander Horré

Senior Product Manager | Product Growth & Design

1w

Sounds like Amazon and Netflix culture.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics