Jay Clouse’s Post

View profile for Jay Clouse, graphic
Jay Clouse Jay Clouse is an Influencer

Founder of Creator Science — helping creators get a higher return on attention. Studying others, running experiments, and sharing it all with 60,000+ readers!

Feel like your reach is small? Here's an advantage for the little guys: Be a real person. Be social on social media. Use some of that surplus time to send DMs, start conversations, and be helpful beyond what big "accounts" are willing to do. Every disadvantage can be flipped and embraced to become its own advantage. Your smaller scale allows you to really SEE everyone who interacts with you. It allows you to go deeper. That's how you get started. – PS: The new issue of my Creator Science newsletter is coming out tomorrow morning! It provides one small way you can stand out from the noise. Subscribe here: https://lnkd.in/erbv9qzb

  • Be a person, not an account.
Kristina Flynn

sell your authentic self confidently | I help high-potential women discover & share their personal story to easily sell themselves & work | +16 years building story-driven brands for NBA All-Stars, VCs, execs | ADHD

1w

followers are people. connections are people. “get social on social media.” love that one Jay Clouse

Meg Clarke

500+ clients getting found on Google | Founder of Clapping Dog Media → The Transparent SEO Agency

1w

YES! I actually just listened to your podcast with Chenell and Becky where you all chatted about how to build a following through being real, authentic people. Great convo!

In a world of giant accounts and faceless corporations, the ability to be a genuine person can be a huge advantage on social media. I love the idea of flipping the script on "small reach." Sure, the big accounts might have millions of followers, but they can't possibly connect with everyone on that level. You're right, being smaller allows you to truly see and appreciate those who interact with you. A quick DM or a thoughtful reply to a comment can go a long way in building relationships and fostering a loyal following. The "big accounts" might be all about mass reach, but you can focus on building genuine connections. That kind of connection is way more valuable in the long run.

Ethan Hale

YouTube Growth Strategist | Social Media | Connecting With Creators | Developing Brand and Voice

1w

Most YouTubers that I’ve watched over the years, always talked about how much fun they had when they had a smaller audience. They were able to reply to every comment and really give their fans a cool experience to get to know the creator. Right now I’m definitely doing what I can to provide value to people that I interact with because I know I’ll have less time in the future. Genuine connection with someone is an awesome feeling 🤝

JJ H.

🎭 Marketing Through Humanities 🎭 | A Philosophical Approach with Practical Results ■ I write about Marketing, Branding & Advertising filtered through a Humanities lens

1w

Little guy right here Jay 🙋♀️ And you know what? It's cool because I can truly interact and engage with people who I know aren't looking at me in a transactional way. There's really nothing for them to gain by connecting with me (in terms of more eyes on their account kind of quid pro quo exchange). So I know they're there because of: ➡️ A genuine interaction we had ➡️ Something I may have written ➡️ Something they created ➡️ Serendipitous moment So yeah, I'm all about that smaller group of people who actually care vs hoping to get something out of it 🤷♀️👌❤️

Serene Benson

Social Media Marketing | Copywriting | Event Management

1w

I imagine seeing a course on 'How to be human on social' coming up soon on the internet 😂

DIMITRIOS GKINOS

Marketing Strategist| Helping business mentors share their expertise globally| Creative mind

1w

Agree 100%, people buy from people. Showcase your personality while providing value, you'll win no doubt

Valentin Farkasch

The European Creator Guy - Building a Home for Creators

1w

That's actually something I've been thinking about recently but in a different way. How do I put that personality, humanity into the videos. How do you communicate who I am while still delivering value ...

Leo Guinan

I help creators maximize their existing resources by transforming content into tools and turning audience data into actionable insights.

1w

Thanks Jay! Always a good reminder. Curious though: do you have tips for finding the right people on LinkedIn? I'm not really finding them when I put posts+articles out, so I want to find people directly. But the feed is really hit/miss with mostly large accounts for me, so I'd love to know if you've found a way to discover the smaller creators on here.

I couldn't agree more Jay Clouse. People want to engage and have meaningful conversations with people, and they appreciate if someone adds value to the subject or asks great questions. So, it doesn't matter if you are a beginner on LinkedIn or you have a smaller number of followers, you can stand out and showcase your expertise by leaving insightful comments on others’ posts.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics