Paul Scrivens’ Post

View profile for Paul Scrivens, graphic

Helping random people find the million dollars hiding in their pocket.

I think there has been a shift in content marketing that many people haven't noticed because they are distracted by numbers. I wouldn't be surprised to find that the majority of your customers are the people who do deep dives into content. They look for deeper experiences to propel them forward. But if you look at the numbers, everything suggests that you should do shorter-form content. Better hooks. Flashier things. And those things work for that set of numbers, but when you compare them to the numbers that matter for your business, namely revenue, I'd venture it's something different. Why is this? Because the people that end up being customers are those who are closer to the problem and the closer you are to the problem, the more likely you are to dive deeper into the possible solutions. The more you feel the problem the more desperate you become and yet more and more people are creating fast food content so they can tell people they received 50000 impressions today. And I don't blame people for falling for it. Bigger numbers should lead to bigger revenue but how often do you see hints of people with big numbers talking about their struggling business? I see it more times than I'd like to admit. Now, are there other things at play? Sure. Business is a system so you can't blame just one part. But it makes you think about what would happen if you shifted to creating content that provided better solutions or deeper experiences. It's what I've been doing since the beginning of the year and each month my revenue increases without any piece of content going viral or blowing up. I believe you create your customers. You don't go out and find them. So I spend time creating the type of customers that I want to work with and that happens through the content that I create. There is an opportunity for many people to elevate beyond others in their niche/field/industry if they take a step back and re-evaluate their content strategy. It just requires you to go deeper.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics