Skiller Whale’s Post

View organization page for Skiller Whale, graphic

2,399 followers

Thank you John Crickett for articulating so clearly one of the main reasons we built Skiller Whale. Our incredible community of coaches (including John!) is a big part of what makes us different from standard learning offerings.

View profile for John Crickett, graphic

Helping you become a better software engineer through coding challenges that build real applications.

“Our senior developers don’t have time to train and mentor other developers” I’ve heard this several times over the last few weeks when talking to hiring managers, who are struggling to fill their vacancies. I think they’re making a mistake. Yes, getting people up to speed on a programming language or tech stack requires effort, and yes your senior people might not be able to spare the time to do it, nor might they want to. But that doesn’t mean you can’t make it happen. There are other options. One option is to hire coaches for your team and have them work with your team onsite 1-2-1 or in small groups. I’ve hired a few excellent people to do this in the past. Unfortunately it’s not cheap, so you tend to end up with an intensive few days with no follow-up. Another option that I’ve come across in the last couple of years is remote, live team coaching. The leading example of this is Skiller Whale. They offer live coaching for software engineers that is delivered remotely in 60-90 minute sessions. These sessions are led by a coach who works with 1 to 4 software engineers to introduce a new topic and help them work through some exercises to apply the new knowledge. Typically their coaches work with the software engineers for 60-90 minutes every fortnight, building up a relationship with them and providing that consistent ongoing learning experience. I’m really impressed with Skiller Whale. If you want to level up your development team with live coaching I thoroughly recommend them. If you’d like to know more and claim a 40% discount, contact them here: https://lnkd.in/ePNNqH7k So why am I promoting Skiller Whale? Because they share my goal - to level up software engineers - and I believe in their approach. I’ve experienced it first-hand. I’ve been working with them on an ad hoc basis for a few months as one of their coaches. It’s been incredibly satisfying seeing the progress that the software engineers make through the coaching sessions. I wish I’d had Skiller Whale when I managed an engineering department.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics