Talener’s Post

View organization page for Talener, graphic

151,524 followers

Employer expectations for new hires are at a all time high. Realistically, these expectations don't match the current #tech hiring market where the #unemployment rate has remained under 3% for several months. The talent pool is limited.

Reconciling Low Employment with Higher Employer Expectations

Reconciling Low Employment with Higher Employer Expectations

Talener on LinkedIn

Jim Mason

Principal Architect DLT at DTCC | Blockchain Practice Leader | Sybal.io | Member of Expert Panel at EU Blockchain Observatory & Forum

1w

Good article on how the employment / talent market seems to work today. As a manager of tech teams in the past, it wasn't always easy to find the perfect person with the perfect skills for a role. I would look for the best, motivated person who I thought would make a great team mate. I then evaluated what key technical skills or experience they were missing against my ideal position requirements. If I felt I could support and develop a few missing tech skills quickly by supporting them with our team and knowledge base, I'd go for the right team mate and bet I could get value from day 1 while growing their skills to fit the role. I'm sure that's not a normal approach today. As a manager I felt just like a coach trying to build the right team and train them. I was ALWAYS in the education business to create teams that could deliver the right services and value. 👍

Like
Reply
Stan Hughes

Mobile Application Developer

1w

"Layoffs and Fewer Job Openings Create a False Sense of Security" Wouldn't this create a false sense of insecurity?

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics