Skip to content

SUBSCRIBER ONLY

College Sports |
Hurricanes land blue-chip offensive lineman Seuseu Alofaituli, vaulting recruiting class into top 10

Hurricanes coach Mario Cristobal poses for a photo with a Miami-branded football at UM's 2022 media day. Cristobal secured a commitment from four-star offensive lineman Seuseu "SJ" Alofaituli on Friday. (Mike Stocker / South Florida Sun Sentinel)
Mike Stocker / South Florida Sun Sentinel
Hurricanes coach Mario Cristobal poses for a photo with a Miami-branded football at UM’s 2022 media day. Cristobal secured a commitment from four-star offensive lineman Seuseu “SJ” Alofaituli on Friday. (Mike Stocker / South Florida Sun Sentinel)
Author
UPDATED:

The Hurricanes may be the hottest team on the recruiting trail in the nation, and their efforts are showing dividends.

Miami secured a commitment from four-star offensive lineman Seuseu “S.J.” Alofaituli on Friday as the star lineman announced his commitment on 247Sports’ YouTube channel.

“To be honest, it was just the culture and the people over there, the people that fill the facility,” Alofaituli said on the broadcast. “I’d say it’s just something special they’ve got going on there with coach (Mario) Cristobal and coach (Alex) Mirabal. Them two together was definitely something special, with coach Cristobal being an ex-O-lineman. I thought it was something special.”

Alofaituli’s commitment boosts the Hurricanes’ 2025 recruiting class past Clemson and LSU and into the top 10, according to 247Sports’ class calculator. Miami’s class now ranks highest among ACC teams. Under coach Mario Cristobal, the Hurricanes had top-10 recruiting classes the last two years.

Alofaituli said Cristobal and Mirabal’s experience developing offensive linemen was a key factor in pulling him to Coral Gables.

“I’d say the most important thing for me was the O-line development,” Alofaituli said. “Coach Mirabal … has guys like (Francis Mauigoa) and Penei Sewell on that line, and it was something I wanted to be involved with. I believed in him, and I’m excited to get it done.”

The standout lineman said a deep conversation with Cristobal, as well as their long-lasting relationship, also helped sway him to Miami.

“We had a really good talk with me and family, and he just said that he believed in me,” Alofaituli said. “He believed in me since freshman year, like he said. He always had that connection with me and my family. They always kept in touch with me, and that’s something I really took to heart, just knowing that they’ve been in touch with me for that long, since freshman year. It was truly a blessing. Just knowing that talk that we had, that he believed in me and in developing me and making me a great player on and off the field was just the moment that I liked him. I like coach Cristobal a lot.”

Alofaituli plays for Las Vegas powerhouse Bishop Gorman and is ranked as the No. 3 interior offensive lineman and No. 77 player in the class, according to 247Sports’ composite rankings. Alofaituli chose Miami over offers from Michigan and Nebraska, among others.

“(Alofaituli) projects as a guard/center at the next level,” 247Sports talent evaluator Greg Biggins wrote for the website. “At 6-3, 280 pounds, Alofaituli may not have the biggest frame but makes up for it with his strength, feet, balance, physicality and high level football IQ. He understands leverage and how to play the position at a college level right now. He’s quick off the ball, moves extremely well laterally and can easily get to the second level and make a block on a linebacker or safety. He’s devastating at the point of attack and mauls opposing linemen in the run game. As a pass blocker, he’s light on his feet, a natural bender and can stun a defender with his punch. Of all the linemen in this year’s class, Alofaituli could be the guy most ready to play now at the college level. He may not have the highest ceiling among the OL group but could have the highest floor and we definitely think he has all the tools to play at the NFL level.

Alofaituli is the fifth offensive lineman in the Hurricanes’ class, joining four-star prospects Max Buchanan and three-star prospects Demetrius Campbell, Takaylen Muex and Jaden Wilkerson.

“I just say I’m really just a dog on and off the field,” Alofaituli said. “I’m a leader. I like to lead by example. I like getting the job done, and I just love the grind. I love working hard. I love the repeated cycle of grinding on and off the field. That’s really something I think I believe. I just live and breathe football.”

Originally Published: