Swap Health’s Post

Swap Health reposted this

View profile for Aaron Doades, graphic

CEO @ Swap Health

“I hold onto and use the [Swap] gift cards in the last 2 weeks of the month, when I completely run out of food options...after running out of money for the month“ I was overcome with emotion after reading this note from one of Swap Health's patients. How is it possible that we, as a country, are putting working-class people in a position where they literally can't afford to feed themselves, let alone afford healthy food? This patient doesn't fit the profile of someone that you would picture when talking about being unable to afford groceries, and yet they would literally not be able to buy food at the end of the each month without Swap. Listen, it's great that Swap exists (I know, I might be biased). Being a part of an incredibly talented, hardworking team that is helping people get healthier by democratizing access to healthy food is the most rewarding thing I've done in my entire career. But shouldn't we be doing better as a country? Shouldn't we not need Swap to exist? #foodinsecurity #foodismedicine

Andrew Hayes

Nutrition Coach for Busy Professionals

2mo

Food insecurity is such an issue... made worse by ultra-processed food being more affordable (and marketed dishonestly). Love what you're doing making a difference

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics